BYC North Channel Regatta

Year Sail# Yacht Name Owner/Skipper Club
2017 1496 Whitefang John Harper BYC Report
2016 1496 Whitefang/Wicked John Harper BYC Report
2015 1084 Solvo James Morphew BYC Report
2014 694 Chickenhawk Mark Pinney BYC Report
2013 1029 holmebrew J David Holme BYC Report
2012 1496 Whitefang John Harper BYC Report
2011 1498 Forty-Two Dave Simon CSYC Report
2010 454 Obscured by Clouds Stu Thompson BYC Report
2009 454 Obscured by Clouds Stu Thompson BYC Report
2008 1633 Draco Brian Shenston BYC Report
2007 1633 Draco Brian Shenstone BYC Report

North Channel History

The North Channel Race was conceived after some good clean fun at the Bayview Yacht Club bar when Joe Matte and Irv Jorgenson, the owners of Cyrene (C-50), challenged Jack Briner, the owner of Caprice (C-64), to a match race from Bayview, up the North Channel, around Russell Island Buoy and back to finish in front of Bayview. An invitation to the other C boats was sent and two other boats participated, Ed Flintermann’s Deodar (C-57) and Morrill Dunn’s Cayuse II (C-59). The four competitors anchored at the starting line, off the Peche Island Range Front Light, with sails furled and crews waiting below deck. Shortly after midnight the morning of Saturday, June 15, 1940, the sound and flash of the starting cannon released the competitors to start the first North Channel Race.

Although the North Channel Race was the property of and managed by the C-Class Association, eligible boats for the second race included L Boats, as well as C Boats. They raced without time allowance, as a fleet for prize flags in each class and also for the first boat to finish overall. In 1947, the Morrill Dunn Trophy was created and awarded to the first-to-finish in the starting fleet. By 1947, there were four classes of boats racing.

By 1951, the race had grown and the C-Class Association realized that the Association was no longer equal to the task of sponsoring and managing the race. The Deed of Gift of the North Channel Race was offered to and accepted by Bayview Yacht Club. The intent of the race has been preserved. It remains primarily a contest of one-design daysailing boats of 30 feet or less. The Race Committee has opened the race to MORC and PHRF rated boats of 30 feet or less, but they are not eligible for the Morrill Dunn or Richard C. Hill Trophies.

Should other classes wish to compete, they may do so by application to the Race Committee of Bayview Yacht Club. Such a request is subject to acceptance or rejection, and the decision rests entirely with the Race Committee of Bayview Yacht Club.

North Channel History


Grosse Pointe Club Starting Line
2004 – Draco – Brian Shenstone – 9:14:31

Grosse Pointe Yacht Club Starting Line
1995 – Annie Mayme – Tom Schrieber – 8:50:22

North Channel Records

2017 Tentative DRYA Regatta Schedule


This series is open to all boats registered with the Detroit Regional Yacht Racing Association.  The series is comprised of 2 series (Spring and Summer).  The overall all series champion is  determined by combining the finishes from the Spring and Summer series and applying the allowed throw outs.  There is a  minimum number of races that must be sailed to qualify for each of the series including the Championship.

Feb-17 – Cal 25 Winter Party / 2017 Season Awards (Crescent Sail Yacht Club – 6PM)
TBD – Spring Meeting BYC 7PM
Date Event Course Host Club
5/13 Dbl-handed Hind/Hornet Regatta GLYC
5/20 Great Lakes Yacht Club Leukemia Cup Regatta W/L GLYC
5/27 Detroit Yacht Club Regatta PP DYC
6/2 Bayview One Design Regatta (6/2- 6/4)  Register BYC
6/17 CSYC C-Course Regatta W/L CSYC
6/24 Detroit Boat Club Regatta PP DBC
7/7 Grosse Point Yacht Club Summer Regatta W/L GPYC
7/15 Chicago Yacht Club – Makinac Race CYC
7/22 Bayview Yacht Club – Makinac Race BYC
8/11 Cal 25 National Championship (8/11 – 8/13) Register BYC/CSYC
8/12 Grosse Pointe Sail Club Regatta W/L GPSC
8/18 Edison Boat Club Regatta PP EBC
8/25 DRE Hydroplane Races 8/25 – 8/27
8/26 Crescent Sail Yacht Club Regatta PP CSYC
9/9 Detroit Yacht Club Sweepstakes Regatta W/L DYC
9/16 Bayview Yacht Club Long Distance Race PP BYC
9/23 Grosse Point Yacht Club Bluenose Regatta PP GPYC
9/30 Bayview North Channel Race ** BYC

W/L – DRYA Standard Windward/Leeward course         PP – DRYA Point to Point

Back to Top

Back to Top

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes